Ptp: Reframing the Question

It’s been a while since I’ve worked on Calvin Yang – it’s coming down to the end of the quarter here at college and I’ve been busy with class work and projects for a while now. With the Thanksgiving Break literally a day away, I may finally have some time to work on my personal game project again. However, before jumping right back into development, this is a great opportunity for me to take a step back and take an objective look at the current status of the project and decide exactly what I want to do with Calvin Yang.

Here’s my project’s thesis:

– I want to create an enjoyable platform game focusing on the main character, Calvin Yang, his abilities and the colourful world he lives in.

Said in another way:

– I’d like to create a fun, complex platformer that stands out from the others by expanding from simple running, jumping and attacking, where the player has access to a variety of unique moves and actions to explore and complete the game’s many levels.

My main goal for this project is to create a fun, unique platformer that focuses on the main character and highlights his unique moveset and tools (a yoyo and some crazy acrobatics) that stands out as more than just another indie platformer game. By focusing more on Calvin’s toolkit and all the moves he has at his disposal, I can build the game and its levels around him and his skills rather than just build a variety of themed obstacle courses for the player to run through.

Leave a comment