Why Does Anime Food Always Look So Darn GOOD?

Today, I decided to do something special for lunch. There’s a little ramen shop on 18th street that serves authentic, delicious Japanese cuisine; I would know, as I’ve been there several times. I ordered a regular sized miso bowl with an egg and when I got it, my mouth started watering almost immediately. It looked so GOOD! Exactly like all the imposibly delicious looking ramen bowls I’ve seen in all of the anime I’ve ever watched.

20141001_195622

Then I suddenly found myself thinking: why does all food look so darn delicious in anime? I mean, I can’t smell it since it’s only an animation, and it still looks somewhat cartoony. But still, just look for yourself:

Most of the time I can’t even tell what the heck they’re eating but I still find myself wanting a piece of it. I also can’t help but feel like the artists always put special emphasis on the food – they always look a lot more realistic and emphasized than the characters or environments shown in the anime. Heck, you can literally see the steam coming out of the second picture as the character cuts into their….whatever they’re eating.

I’m a guy who loves food, and my favourite kinds of food all come from Asian countries, and I have a feeling that its images like these that sparked my interest in Asian food in the first place. When I first saw a bowl of ramen in ‘Naruto’ when I was little, I was dying to try a bowl of ramen myself. I had to settle for lame instant-ramen for many years before tasting the real thing at Nom Nom Ramen on 18th street, during my first year at Drexel. Needless to say, it was DIVINE.

Geez…now I’m hungry for ramen again….

Leave a comment